The Star by My Head: Poets from Sweden (Paperback)

The Star by My Head: Poets from Sweden Cover Image
By Malena Morling (Translator), Jonas Ellerstom (Translator)


Published in partnership with the Poetry Foundation, "The Star By My Head" is a breathtaking anthology of poems featuring eight of Sweden's most highly regarded poets, including Nobel Prize winner Tomas Transtromer.
From Edith Sodergran to Gunnar Ekelof to Nobel Prize-winning Tomas Transtromer, Sweden has long been home to a rich and luminous poetic tradition, notable for refreshing openness, striking honesty, and a rare transcendence that seems to spring from a keen attention to the natural world. With poems that span from the beginnings of Modernism to present day, "The Star By My Head: Eight Swedish Poets" is an essential bilingual volume that offers stark, exquisite translations by internationally acclaimed poets and translators Malena Morling and Jonas Ellerstrom. Published in partnership with the Poetry Foundation, "The Star By My Head" is the premiere American anthology of 20th- and 21st-century Swedish poetry in English translation.

About the Author

Ilya Kaminsky is the Director of the Harriet Monroe Poetry Institute at the Poetry Foundation. A Russian born poet and translator, he is the author of "Dancing in Odessa" and co-editor of "The Ecco Anthology of International Poetry." He lives in San Diego.

Malena Morling is the author of two collections of poems, "Astoria" and "Ocean Avenue." She has received a Rona Jaffe Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and a Lannan Foundation Fellowship. She is on the faculty of the Low-Residency MFA program at New England College, and is Associate Professor of Creative Writing at the University of North Carolina, Wilmington. She lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

Jonas Ellerstrom is a Swedish author, translator, publisher, and critic, born in Southern Sweden, now living in Stockholm. He has published poetry and essay collections in Swedish and has translated many volumes of poetry, including the works of William Blake, Arthur Rimbaud, and T.S. Eliot."
Product Details
ISBN: 9781571314611
ISBN-10: 157131461X
Publisher: Milkweed Editions
Publication Date: January 14th, 2014
Pages: 183
Language: English
Series: Poets in the World